Fewture

Game stopped during power outage now DB is corrupted?

7 posts in this topic

Hey Folks,

I was playing on the Exile server I've had set up for a while. The power flickered and my box shut down. When I restarted the game, I kept getting the ghost spawn weeds. I figured something got corrupted by the abrupt shutdown, so I cleared the all the tables in the DB. No change. I've re-run my Exile SQL to repopulate the DB. No change.

I'm no expert, but I've been running the server for about a year and I cant figure out what is going on. Any suggestions?

some of the actual files could have been corrupt, if you have backups, readd to the server, reupload exileserver files, mission pbo etc

verify arma3server files

Advertisement

Hello Fewture,

I know it will not help you now, what I do, is my my Exile start-up batch file, I make a copy of the DB every time the server reboots.  So in the worse case, you lose just one session of 'stuff'.

I also have a backup directory which mirrors the real ones (sorta), in which I put all modified files such as the exile-server-config.pbo.

This way, if something should 'blow-up' like with you, or like a stupid mistake as I have made, I can 'un-do' that mistake in seconds.

But the chance of your DB being corrupt is slim....it is possible though.

A good 'test' is to change your steam id in the db to, as an example, 76xxx to 77xxx, then log in.  Exile will 'see you' as a new player.  Make sure you change ALL OF THEM!

If it works, then you know most things are 'working'.  You then go back and change the 77 back to a 76.

This is a 'quick and dirty' way to test the DB.

Good luck!

:)

Thanks for the response guys. Here is where I am at:

I deleted the exile server folder. I verified all my Arma files through steam. Everything is legit.

I created a new server file, copied the arma server files, the exile mod files, and the exile server files. Fixed the extdb.ini